Tanzania Elections: Parliamentary Results Stream In

A woman casts her vote at a polling station during the presidential and parliamentary election in Ubungo ward in the Kinondoni district of Dar es Salaam, October 25, 2015. Photo: Reuters

So far the biggest upset in Tanzania’s parliamentary results has been opposition Chadema’s party chairman Freeman Mbowe – he has lost his seat in the Hai constituency of the Kilimanjaro region.

The ruling party CCM’s candidate Saasisha Mafuwe won 89,786 votes and Mr Mbowe won 27,684.

There have been concerns over the credibility of the election results – voiced first by Chadema who’ve alleged irregularities, and now by Tanzania Elections Watch which was barred from observing.

Other constituencies where results have been announced include Moshi mjini (urban) where CCM’s Raymond Mboya has 31,169 while Chadema’s Priscus Tarimo won 22,555 votes.

Mbeya constituency results show CCM’s Tulia Akson leading with 75,225 votes while Chadema’s Joseph Mbilinyi has 37, 591.

In Jombe mjini, CCM’s Deodatus Mwanyika has 29,553 votes while Chadema’s Emmanuel Masonga has 5,940.

In Mtwara vijijini (rural) constituency Shamsia Mtamba of CUF party got 26,262 while CCM’s Hawa Ghasia has 18,505 votes.

CCM’s Ramadhan Sima won 23,220 votes while Chadema’s Rehema Nkoha won 15,467 in Singida mjini constituency.

Written by PH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

‘It’s Totally Over’ – Brad Pitt, 56, And Model Girlfriend Nicole Poturalski, 27, ‘Split’ After 3 Months Of Dating

Kim Kardashian Spent ‘$1M’ On Her Lavish Tropical 40th Birthday Party