Ryan Kinnane Named SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year for 2024

Auburn track and field senior Ryan Kinnane has been named the SEC Men’s Indoor Track and Field Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year for 2024, the conference office announced on Wednesday.

In the spring of 2023, the distance runner from Wichita, Kansas, graduated with an undergraduate degree in aviation management and a minor in business. Kinnane achieved a 3.95 undergraduate grade point average and is pursuing a Master of Business Administration with a 4.0.

Kinnane wins the SEC Men’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award for the third consecutive year. Kinnane is the first Auburn track and field athlete to have won three SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards. He won the SEC Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year award in both 2022 and 2023. Last season, he was named SEC Runner of the Week, made the autumn SEC Academic Honor Roll, and became the first Auburn cross country athlete to be named UTSFCCCA National Athlete of the Week.

Kinnane’s highlight of the 2024 indoor season came at the Razorback Invitational, where he ran 3:58.28 to break Auburn’s 42-year-old mile record.

Kinnane is this year’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year, alongside Missouri’s Mitchell Weber, South Carolina’s Dylan Targgart, and Tennessee’s Jacob Lewis. McKenzie Long of Ole Miss and Lamara Distin of Texas A&M received the prize on the women’s side.

The winning student-athletes will be recognized at the SEC Indoor Championships in Fayetteville, Arkansas, on February 23-24.

Written by PH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

HBCU Students Can Apply for Inaugural Du Bois Scholars Program

DR Congo Government Resigns In Election Aftermath