SA: Master KG, Somizi And Others Win Big At Feather Awards 2020

Mzansi flew the Pride flag high at this year’s 12th annual Feather Awards held at the Constitution Hill in Braamfontein, on Wednesday night.

Synonymous with its colorful live entertainment and witty commentary, the carefully scaled-down affair did not fail to deliver with a stellar performance by legendary jazz singer Gloria Bosman.

Commenting on the event, Feathers Awards co-founder Thami Kotlolo aka Thami Dish said: “With the current ongoing global pandemic, we made a call that the show must go on, obviously respecting all government regulations.

“Now in our 12th year, the main reason for hosting these awards during this trying period was to continue celebrating the LGBTIQ+ community and turn up the love.

“Every year, we come together to celebrate our diversity and inclusion for all and we felt we needed it even more so in 2020.

“Post Feathers, however, the work goes on. We party hard but we work even harder. The ongoing LGBTIQ+ dialogues in rural communities across the country continue to help us grow and give us a voice.”

Actor and film director Thishiwe Ziqubu bagged the award for the best-styled individuals while tech geek and entrepreneur Gorata Nzimande took home the hunk of the year award.

“Gomora” actress Siphesihle Ndaba was named Hot Chick of the Year.

South Africa’s favorite captain, Siya Kolisi, was the obvious choice for the sports personality of the year.

Award-winning poet and musician Napo Masheane, who was attended with her son, was named Best Rainbow Parent.

The drama queen of the year award went to Somizi Mhlongo-Motaung and his TV show “Dinner at Somizi’s”.

The musician of the year award went to global sensation Master KG.

Rainbow UCT took the award for best LGBTIQ student movement for their contribution to the community and the best LGBTIQ initiative in the public sector award went to Constitution Hill for their ongoing support of all things LGBTIQ.

Engage Men’s Health won the best LGBTIQ initiative in the private sector award.

Actress and model Refilwe Modiselle were named Diva Extraordinaire of the Year, while comedian Coconut Kelz took the social media personality of the year award.

The media award of the year went to the SABC2 talk show “Motswako”.

Vaivi Swartz and Sape Maodi-Swartz won the cutest couple of the year award while role model of the year went to Dr Dulcy Stapler Rakumakoe.

Fag Hag of the year was a tie between businesswoman Shumi Dantile and one of SA’s biggest LGBTQI+ allies, Siv Ngesi.

Speaking about sharing the win for this year’s Fag Hag of the year award Ngesi said: “I’ve been going to the Feather Awards for many years.

“And I’ve always thought that the Fag Hag award is one of the most prestigious awards.

“But, I never knew you could win an award for loving and supporting human beings.

“I really am quite inspired by the community and I’ve learned a lot from the community.


“They’ve thought me a lot about vulnerability and they’ve redefined the idea of masculinity to me…Definitely, the prettiest award I’ve ever gotten in my life, can’t wait to put it in my TV room.“

The Simon Nkoli award was bestowed on jazz sensation Gloria Bosman.

The African Feather of the Year accolade went to Ugandan LGBTQI+ advocate Dr Frank Mugisha.

Having won the Robert F Kennedy Human Rights Award and Thorolf Rafto Memorial Prize 2011 for his activism, the executive director of Sexual Minorities Uganda (SMUG) continues to be one of the most prominent advocates for LGBTGI+ rights on the continent.

Check out the full list of Feather Awards 2020

Best-styled Individual

Thishiwe Ziqubu

Hunk of the Year

Gorata Nzimande

Hot Chick of the Year

Siphesihle Ndaba

Sports Personality of the Year

Siya Kolisi

Best Rainbow Parent

Napo Masheane

Best LGBTIQ Student Movement

Rainbow UCT

Best LGBTIQ Initiative: Public Sector

Constitution Hill

Best LGBTIQ Initiative: Private Sector

Engage Men’s Health

Diva Extraordinaire of the Year

Refilwe Modiselle

Media Award of the Year


Social Media Personality of the Year

Coconut Kelz

Cutest Couple of the Year

Vaivi Swartz and Sape Maodi-Swartz

Role Model of the Year

Dr Dulcy Stapler Rakumakoe

Drama Queen of the Year

Somizi and “Dinner at Somizis”

Socialite of the Year

Olwethu ‘Olwee’ Mlotshwa

Musician of the Year

Master KG

Fag Hag of The Year

Shumi Dantile and Siv Ngesi

African Feather of the Year

Frank Mugisha

Simon Nkoli Award

Gloria Bosman


Written by PH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

‘Don’t Criticize Me If You Don’t Even Have A Passport’ – Ghanaian Singer, Stonebwoy Fires Critics

7 Killed In Egypt Helicopter Crash As Aircraft Suffers ‘Technical Failure’