Kenya: ODM kicks 6 MPs Out Of Parliamentary Committees

ODM has kicked rebel members out of house committees.

ODM discharged the six rebel MPs from parliamentary committees in the latest attempt by Orange House to instil discipline among members.

The party cracked the whip Tuesday, recalling the legislators said to have a working relationship with the ruling Jubilee Party ahead of the next polls.

The party de-whipped former ODM secretary general Ababu Namwamba from three committees. Namwamba is now the Labour Party of Kenya chairman.

” Namwamba is hereby discharged from the Budget and Appropriations Committee, the Committee of Administration and National Security and the Constitution Implementation Oversight and Implementation Committee,” the statement from ODM read.


Also discharged from various committees were Karachuonyo MP James Rege from the Committees of Energy, Equal Opportunity and National Cohesion; Tigania East MP Mpuru Aburi who was recalled from the committees of Energy and Lands; and Mathare MP Steven Kariuki from the committees of Education, Constitution Oversight and Implementation.

Others removed are Kubai Iringo (Imenti Central) from the committees of Finance and Regional Integration; Isaac Mwaura (nominated MP) from the committees of Environment and House Procedure; John Waluke (Sirisia) from the committees of National Security and Delegated Legislation.

ODM says that the MPs have stopped representing the party and thus do not deserve house committee positions and allowances in some cases.


Written by PH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Kenya Climbs 21 Places In World Bank’s Ease Of Doing Business Index

tea farm

Kenya: Jubilee Leaders Set To Grab Tea Estates Land In Rift Valley, Says Governor Ruto