AKA Dominates South African Hip Hop Awards With 17 Nominations

The sixth annual South African Hip Hop Awards (SAHHA) are almost upon us.

The awards, which aim to celebrate achievements within Mzansi’s rap scene, will take place once again at Gold Reef City in Johannesburg on December 13.

Unsurprisingly, the men who rule the radio and music television charts are the most nominated this year throughout the 32 categories.

AKA appears 17 times on the nominees list, as either a solo act, a featured artist or for his work with Anatii.

Cassper Nyovest is nominated 14 times and will be awarded the Milestone Award for his Fill Up Orlando Stadium initiative.

With previous years as an example and at the rate things are going, “Abuti Fill Up” will be given this award every time he attempts to fill up anything.


View this post on Instagram

It all starts with a dream, an African dream!!! Will you be there ?? when we #FillUpFnbStadium #December2nd

A post shared by Refiloe Phoolo 🇿🇦 (@casspernyovest) on

Shane Eagle’s Yellow album seems to have been really enjoyed by the judges, to the point that they even deem him a worthy contender for Lyricist of the Year.

Perhaps Rouge’s stellar debut album, The New Era Sessions, was submitted too late for consideration for Lyricist of the Year.

The recipients of last year’s Honourary Award (which celebrates the legends that built SA rap) were Godessa and there were so many technical glitches when it came to them actually being honoured. Maybe this year’s honourees, DJ Blaze and DJ Bionic, will have better luck.

In previous years, etv has been the broadcast partner but this time around, the SAHHAs will be aired on SABC 1.

Last year, comedian and media personality Nina Hastie co-hosted the show with rapper-cum-actor, Ondaground.

This year, Hastie has been named the host with the most and a co-host may be announced closer to the event date.

Here are a few of the most illuminating SAHHA 2017 categories:


1. Rouge

2. Shane Eagle

3. BigStar

4. Zoocci Coke Dope

5. J Molley


1. Cassper Nyovest – Thuto

2. Stogie T – Stogie T

3. Shane Eagle – Yellow

4. AKA & Anatii – Be careful What You Wish For

5. OkMalumKoolKat – Mlazi Milano


1. BigStar – TellAscope

2. Zoocci Coke Dope – Morning Star

3. Youngsta & Ganja Beatz – The Cape & Good Dope

4. Sliqe – Injayam Vol 1

5. J Molley – Dreams Money Can Buy


1. Nelz – I am

2. Lee STK – Beautiful Black Girl

3. Patty Monroe – Malatjie

4. Rouge – The New Era sessions

5. Megmafia – Barkston Drive


1. Cassper Nyovest – Thuto

2. Stogie T – Stogie T

3. Shane Eagle – Yellow

4. OkmalumKooLkat – Mlazi Milano

5. Da L.E.S – Diamonds in Africa


1. Shane Eagle

2. Stogie T

3. Blaklez

4. Ginger Breadman

5. Youngsta

MILESTONE AWARD: Cassper Nyovest for Fill Up Orlando Stadium.


HONOURARY AWARD: DJ Bionic and DJ Blaze.


1. Frank Casino ft Riky Rick – Whole Thing (remix)

2. Cassper Nyovest – Tito Mboweni

3. Kwesta ft Thabsie – Ngiyazfela Ngawe

4. Da L.E.S ft Gemini Major – Lifestyle

5. OkMalumKoolKat – Gqi

6. Stogie ft Emtee & Yanga – By Any Means

7. Aka & Anatii – 10 Fingers

8. AKA & Anatii – Don’t Forget to Pray

9. Junior Fe Rocka ft Maraza & Golden Black – Been Thinking

10. AKA – The World is Yours


What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Total votes: 0

Upvotes: 0

Upvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Downvotes: 0

Downvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *